• 1983

    Bombing of the U.S. Embassy and Marine Corps barracks in Beirut, Lebananon

  • 1986

    The Technical Support Working Group (TSWG) is Formed

    In April 1982, the National Security Decision Directive 30 assigned responsibility for the development of an overall United States policy on terrorism to the Interdepartmental Group on Terrorism (IG/T), chaired by the Department of State. TSWG was an original subgroup of the IG/T, which later became the Interagency Working Group on Counterterrorism (IWG/CT). In its February 1986 report, a Cabinet-level Task Force on Counterterrorism, led by then Vice President Bush, cited TSWG as assuring, “the development of appropriate counterterrorism technological efforts.”

    TSWG operates under the management and technical oversight of the Department of Defense (DoD), Assistant Secretary of Defense for Special Operations and Low-Intensity Conflict (ASD SO/LIC) and the policy oversight of the Department of State, Bureau of Counterterrorism and Countering Violent Extremism.

    TSWG’s 10 subgroups are chaired by senior representatives from DoD, other federal agencies, and national organizations with special expertise in those functional areas.

  • 1988

    Bombing of Pan Am Flight 103

  • 1993

    World Trade Center Bombed

  • 1995

    Oklahoma City Bombing

  • 1998

    Bombing of U.S. Embassies in Kenya and Tanzania

    Presidential Decision Directive (PDD) 62 is signed, defining U.S. policy on combating terrorism

  • 1999

    Combating Terrorism Technical Support Office created

    The Assistant Secretary of Defense for Special Operations/Low-Intensity Conflict (ASD SO/LIC) established CTTSO in 1999 to consolidate its research and development programs previously administered by the Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense (Command, Control, Communications and Intelligence). The research and development effort that supports the interagency Technical Support Working Group (TSWG) was the first program to transition to CTTSO. The TSWG is divided into 10 subgroups, each chaired by senior representatives from federal agencies with special expertise in those functional areas. The Explosive Ordnance Disposal/Low-Intensity Conflict (EOD/LIC) Program, which develops advanced technologies for Joint Service EOD and Special Operations Forces (SOF) missions, transitioned in 2001. In 2007, the Irregular Warfare Support (IWS) Program was initiated to satisfy a growing need to improve the capacity of the United States to counter insurgencies and fight an irregular war. In FY16, portions of the EOD/LIC and IWS Programs that support the CTTSO mission were transitioned to TSWG under the Improvised Device Defeat/Explosives Countermeasures and Irregular Warfare and Evolving Threats Subgroups, respectively.

  • 2000

    Terrorist attack on the USS Cole in Yemen.

  • 2001

    September 11th attacks

    The U.S. enters Operation Enduring Freedom

    TSWG organizes a BAA for the Department of Defense

  • 2002

    Bali bombings

  • 2003

    The U.S. enters Operation Iraqi Freedom

    Saddam Hussein is overthrown

    Capture of Saddam Hussein by U.S. special operations forces

  • 2004

    Madrid train bombings

  • 2005

    July 7th attacks on the London Underground

  • 2006

    Special Operations Forces (SOF) support thrust begins in CTTSO

  • 2007

    Irregular Warfare Support Program formally created and funded as a separate program

  • 2008

    Mumbai attacks

  • 2009

    Attempted underwear bomber aboard Northwest Airlines Flight 253

  • 2011

    Killing of Osama bin Laden by a team of U.S. Navy Seals

  • 2012

    More than $1B was spent to ensure that the London Olympics were terrorism-free

    A terrorist attack kills the U.S. Ambassador to Libya and three other Americans

  • 2013

    Boston Marathon Bombing